Report Abuse Now!
Everyone Must Report Child Abuse:
Intervention has to take place to protect children, to get them to a place of healing and to
restore their childhood.
Texas Family Code (261.101) states that a person having cause to believe that a child's physical or mental
health or welfare has been or may be adversely affected by the abuse or neglect
must report immediately.
Failure to report is punishable by imprisonment for up to 180 days and/or a
fine up to $2,000.
Texas Family Code, Chapter 34, 261.101.
Who Must Report:
A person having cause to believe that a child’s physical or mental health or welfare has been or may beadversely affected by abuse or neglect must report IMMEDIATELY. Professionals shall
make a report within 48 hours of the initial suspicion of abuse. A professional may not delegate or rely on another person
to make the report.
- Teachers, Counselors, Clergy,
- Individuals whose personal communications would otherwise be considered
Report Abuse Now!
- The identity of an individual making a report under this chapter is confidential and my be disclosed only on the order of a court or to a law enforcement officer for the purposes of conducting a criminal investigation of the report.
- You are immune from civil or criminal liability as long as the report is made in “good faith” and “without malice”. “Good Faith” means that you took reasonable steps to learn the facts. “Without Malice” means that you did not intend to injure or violate the rights of another person.
Failure To Report:
- Class B Misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for up to 180 days and/or a fine of up to $2,000.
- What to Report (fill in what you know):
- Child’s Name & Age
- Address &/or School
- Parent’s Name & Address
- Any Statements Made by Child
- Physical Indicators Observed
- Behavioral Indicators Observed
- Person Suspected of Abuse or Neglect
- Relationship to Child
Local Law Enforcement
Statewide Hotline: 1-800-252-5400